Note: This article may contain commentary reflecting the author's opinion.

On Friday night, the House of Representatives convened to take the fourteenth vote in the saga to decide who would be elected as Speaker of the House. In the twelfth vote taken earlier in the afternoon, the GOP opposition fractured with 14 members, led by Rep. Chip Roy (R-TX), voting for Kevin McCarthy.

The remaining Republican representatives who did not vote for McCarthy and instead voted for Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH) on the previous, thirteenth ballot include Reps. Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Lauren Boebert (R-CO), Eli Crane (R-AZ), Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Bob Good (R-VA), and Matt Rosendale (R-MT).

The late-night proceedings, which began at 10 p.m. EST, began with the prayer from the House Champlain and the pledge of allegiance.

Following this, Rep. Patrick McHenry (R-NC) nominated Kevin McCarthy in the Republican leader’s fourteenth try to gain the Speaker’s gavel.

“I am honored to rise tonight to nominate my good friend, the gentleman from California, Kevin McCarthy as Speaker of this House,” the congressman began.

“It’s been a long week. And a lot of attention has been placed upon us here in the House but then again I say that to the most favorite woman in Washington this week,” he continued. “The president has called this process an embarrassment… but its called democracy and this is a hallmark of a free society where every voice and every vote counts.”

Do you think Trump should be arrested?*
This poll gives you free access to our premium politics newsletter. Unsubscribe at any time.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

“We know it’s messy. But open and transparent debate is what sets us apart from authoritarian regimes. In order to outcompete our adversaries we must adhere to the principles that make this nation great and that starts with a free and open exchange of ideas,” the Republican explained. “We all have played a part whether it’s the dean or members who just have been waiting for four days and voting loyally.”


“He’s empowered members to come together and find consensus,” McHenry stated. “We have all played a part.”

“I am one of the few members left on the Republican side who has had the pleasure of serving with Kevin for his full tenure in the House…he is a good friend,” McHenry said after speaking about how McCarthy is going to lead Republicans well in the 118th Congress to hold the Biden administration accountable. “He knows more about members than they know about themselves…He has cared so much about members, not for politics but because he cares about people. He is unflinchingly optimistic. The glass is always half full. That has been a hell of a trait this week. He is relentless. The man does not quit. And it was Kevin that led Republicans back to a majority in this House, the only Republican institution in Washington to this day.”

“And that is why I advance Kevin McCarthy as the next Speaker of the House of Representatives,” McHenry said at the conclusion of his speech.

Following McHenry’s oration, the Democrats nominated Rep. Hakeen Jefferies (D-NY) for Speaker.

The congressional roll was then called as each representative announced their vote.

The final tally for the fourteenth ballot is as follows: 212 votes for Jefferies, 216 votes for McCarthy, two representatives voted present, and there were four votes for other nominees.

Rep. Lauren Boebert (R-CO) and Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL) voted present thus lowering the threshold for McCarthy to be elected, however, that was not enough for the Republican leader to make it past the finish line.

Towards the end of the vote, McCarthy was visibly angry and his deputies, as well as McCarthy himself, attempted to negotiate with the remaining detractors in an effort to get them to change their vote.

The remaining Republican representatives who did not vote for McCarthy voted for a variety of nominees. Rep. Eli Crane (R-AZ) and Rep. Matt Rosendale (R-MT) voted for Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ) while Rep. Bob Good (R-VA) and Rep. Biggs voted for Rep. Jim Jordan (R-OH).

You Can Follow Sterling on Twitter Here